A Lesson in Greed

I got this new job, as you know, and today I was calculating the money I would make and how it would allow us to buy all these things, new car, a down payment for a house, etc. Basically, greed overtook me.

Story: When Big Al and I got married, I was still under my lease for my apartment. I still am for two more weeks! It’s been nice as I slowwwwly move out my things. The big thing that hasn’t moved out is my twin-sized bed. Obviously, we can’t keep it, as we currently live in a one bedroom apartment. So I posted it on Craigslist last night. (BTW, if you want something gone, Craigslist is the answer! I’ve had 14 phone calls so far and 7 emails!)
Today I met a lady at my old apartment to come look at it. She rolls on into the complex with her minivan, all 18 kids in tow (or so it seemed), and we welcomed her inside. She walked in my bedroom, took one look and said, “I’ll take it.”
I asked, “Umm… do you want to try it out? You should lay on it, it’s a little firm.”
She responded, “No, I’m sure it’s fine.”
Great! A Sale!
As I took her money, I joking commented, “You can have the sheets, too, if you want.”
“YES!” she replied. “If you’re not going to use them.”
Oh, ok. Sure. I grabbed a trash bag and bagged them up.
“Well, do you want the comforter, too? I mean, what good is a twin comforter without a twin bed?”
“Honey, I’ll take anything you can give me. I’m a single mom trying to make ends meet. I just need this bed now because all my kids are sharing a bunkbed.”
REALITY CHECK! If I was in her situation, I would need all this stuff.
So while Alex carried the bed downstairs, I was trying to get her to take all my stuff. My paintings, my books…I mean, I was going to donate it anyway.
She ended up leaving with not only the bed and bedding, but also with pots and pans, a DVD player, and a crockpot. Maybe I’m a little manic…
Alex was not pleased with me giving our stuff away, but there are always people in need. Giving cleanses the soul. The lesson for today, kids, is don’t get wrapped up in your own life. There are so many people who have it worse than we do and we need to do everything we can to focus on them, not ourselves, to show Jesus to the world.
“The afflicted and needy are seeking water, but there is none, and their tongue is parched with thirst. I, the LORD, will answer them Myself, as the God of Israel I will not forsake them.” Isaiah 41:17

Leave a Reply

