CVS, Wal-Mart, Albertson’s and Kroger-Oh My!

Quite an interesting shopping day. I went to four stores in 2.5 hours. I’ll tell you, I’m not doing that again. Here’s why: I went to Wal-Mart today. Now, personally, I love Wal-Mart. I buy clothes, makeup, house stuff, practically everything there! Except groceries. Now everyone says Wal-Mart will price match other stores prices, so why do I go to Kroger AND Albertson’s every Sunday, when I could just be going to Wal-Mart and be done with it?
I’ll tell you why: According to walmart.com’s website,

We do honor “Preferred Shopping Card” advertised prices. Must be like items, be advertised and require a competitor’s shopping card, for the discount to apply.
We do not honor advertisements that require a purchase in order to receive the advertised price or free product.
We do not honor “Buy One / Get One Free” advertisements.
We do not honor double or triple coupons or percent off advertisements.
We do not honor other retailers’ “Misprinted” advertised prices.
We do not honor Internet Pricing.
We do not honor competitor advertisements from outside of the store’s or Club’s local trade territory.

So, basically it has to be advertised in the Kroger print ad, I have to take the Kroger print ad to Wal-Mart and then they’ll price match. Ok, so what about bread? At Kroger, their bread is .78 everyday. This is not an advertised price, because it’s .78 all the time. At Wal-Mart today, their cheapest bread was .99. Ok, so only .20 difference, let’s move on. What about paper towels? At Albertson’s, they have Bounty paper towels 8 count everyday for $4.99. Guess how much the same package was at Wal-Mart today? $8.99!!!! Ok people, that’s a difference of $4! These are unadvertised items, so Wal-Mart won’t price match. The mini carrots I bought at Kroger today for $1, they were $1.88 at WM. Eggs at Kroger, .59. Cheapest eggs at Walmart, $1.98. Are you beginning to see my point?
I will stay with my two favorite grocery stores on earth: Kroger and Albertson’s. Now don’t get me wrong, I go to Wal-Mart probably twice a week and will continue to do so! Just not for my grocery items.

Onward.

Prepare your eyes.
DSCF0364

First stop: CVS. One item to buy. Last week, CVS printed me out a coupon for free aspirin. I got free aspirin today. 120 count bottle, 325 mg, on sale for $1.99. Free!

CVS total before: $1.99
CVS Total after: $0
CVS Savings: $1.99

Second Stop: Wal-Mart (yes, I did pick out some items!) Side story: Alex and I went to a beautiful Italian restorante called Antonio’s this week. We fell IN LOVE with the olive oil you dip your bread into. It was so smooth and had actual cloves of garlic in it, that were (smack) perfecto! Anywho, we came home that night and tried to make it with the Kroger brand olive oil we had, and some minced garlic. It was not so good. Tasted sort of citrus-y and the garlic was way too strong.
The point of my digression is I bought a nicer bottle of olive oil at Wal-Mart to see if that will make it taste better. I also bought Lily some cat food (3.97, then used $2 off coupon, paying $1.97 for a 16 lb bag!). And Alex is trying to train her t do tricks (Good LUCK) so I bought two packs of cat treats and used a $1/2 coupon, paying .44 each.
Wal-Mart Total Before: $17.01
Wal-Mart Total After: $13.46 (darn that olive oil, it better be good!)
Wal-Mart Savings: $3.55

Third Stop: Albertson’s. Have I mentioned I love this store? I know I do every week, but there’s just something about a small-town grocery store. Ok, so Dallas, isn’t that small-town, but inside Albertson’s I feel like it is. The baker wears his tall baker’s hat and walks around the store pushing his bread cart, shouting “Hot, fresh bread!” in his unrecognizable foreign accent. The butcher stands in front of the meat case and greets everyone that walks by. He’s started a conversation with me quite a few times! And the samples! Grocery stores don’t do samples anymore. On Sundays, it seems like at every other aisle end, there’s a sample table with pleading associates, desperately wanting you to better your life by tasting their selected product. Again, I digress.
Free items:
Dorito’s (originally 3.99, buy one get one free)
Albertson’s 16 oz picante sauce (2.09, b1g1 free)
Pllsbury Grands biscuits, 5 ct (1.49, on sale today only for .99, used in store coupon for .20 off, and used manufacturer’s coupon for .40 off, which they doubled)
Home Maker Orange Juice 64 oz (3.59, b1g1 free)

Practically free:
Albertson’s had a promotion where if you bought 10 boxes of Kellogg’s, Keebler, or Sunshine products, you would get $10 off groceries instantly, along with a $10 rebate. I got the following ten items for $1 each, unless otherwise noted:
Cheese-It Party Mix (3.29,on sale for 3.00)
2-Cheese-Its (3.29 each, on sale for 3.00 each)
2-Keebler Choc. Chip cookies (3.99 each, on sale for 3.00 each)
Rice Crispy Treat Snacks (3.29, on sale for $3)
2-Poptarts 12 pack (3.79, on sale for $3, used $1/2 coupon, paying .50 each)
2-Kellogg’s cereals (3.79, on sale for $3, used $1.50/2 coupon, paying .25 each)
Also the following items were nearly free:
Pepsodent Toothpaste (1.29, on sale for .79, I used in store coupon for .30 off, paying .49 cents)
Iceberg Lettuce (1.49, on sale for 1.29, used in store coupon for .52 cents off, paying .77)
4-100 Grand candy bars (.99 each, on sale for .50 each, used in store coupon for .21 off, paid .29 each)

Albertson’s Total Before: $73.65
Albertson’s Total After: $26.58
Albertson’s Savings: $47.07

Finally, Kroger: Such a convenient store because you can load coupons online onto to shopper’s card and when they scan it, it takes to coupon’s automatically! I use these sites: shortcuts.com, cellfire.com and pgesaver.com. What’s great about this is, you can combine these coupons with an identical paper coupon!
Free items:
none 😦

Almost free items:
Kroger tortilla chips, on sale for $1 (cheapest tortilla chips at WM were $2, yes, I’m still talking about it)
6 yoplait yogurts (on sale 10/$6, used .50/6 from cellfire.com, plus .40/6 from shortcuts.com, plus .40/6 paper coupon, leaving me to pay .38 each!)
Welch’s grape jelly 20 oz, on sale for 1.99, used .75 off coupon, plus .55 off any gallon of milk when you buy any welch’s product, leaving me to pay .69!)

Kroger total before: $24.60
Kroger total after: $18.23
Kroger total savings: $6.37, not too good.

Grand total before: a whopping $117.25
Grand total spent: $58.27, a tad over budget, but last week makes up for it, I guess!
Grand total saved by using coupons only when things are on sale: $58.98. I’d call that success! I saved more than I paid.

One thought on “CVS, Wal-Mart, Albertson’s and Kroger-Oh My!

  1. Have you ever been to Johnny Carino’s? They have the olive oil with herbs and little crunchy pieces of garlic in it…it’s my favorite! Are the Albertson’s in Texas not called Food Pyramid now? I used to work at one in Tulsa.

Leave a Reply

