“The Prince of Tides” Review

null
I have been reading this book since Labor Day! It took me almost 3 months to finish it. You assume it is because I’ve been busy with work and cliff jumping and horse racing. Wrong. This book is so emotionally charged, I would often cry while reading it. It is a very disturbing story about a man named Tom Wingo. His story stretches from the tales of the lives of his grandparents, parents, siblings, and even his life now as a 40-something. It’s chocked full of child abuse, rape, murder, incest, etc. After about 300 pages, I would whine to Alex to beg him to let me tell him what’s going on in my book because I needed to vent (he refused to hear anymore stories after the first child abuse scene!). I knew it had to get better, and I at least needed some closure so I kept on reading. At the end of the 700 page novel, there was closure. Not the kind I wanted, but closure.
I suggest this book to anyone who can put themselves in other people’s neglected shoes and not come out scarred. This is the book for you. It is interesting, but hard to read.
This was a book on my “books to read before I die” list. I’m guessing it is due to the imaginary language that Pat Conroy uses. The entire book is metaphors. “He looked at me as a hawk does, sitting high in a tree watching her unsuspecting prey as it buries the fruits of the day for its starving family.” I had to reread most sentences just to catches the symbolism. He does a great job with metaphors.

I give this book 2 out of 5 stars.
Next book: The Red Tent!

Leave a Reply

