Potpouri

Wow, sorry I have been neglecting my blog! I’ve been in and out of town like a fugitive.
Here’s a quick update:

November’s grocery total was $190.44. That’s about $47.61 per week. Right on par!
I saved $69.06 during the month of November by using coupons only when things I bought were on sale.

That Bounce dryer bar I bought in September is still going strong! That’s a whole four months of laundry that I have not used a single dryer sheet and my clothes are coming out Spring Air fresh!

The Disney movie UP is incredible. I laughed, I cried, it moved me, Bob. Rent it, better yet, BUY IT! 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Up!

I finished “The Red Tent” by Anita Diamant. It was an entertaining story about Jacob and Esau, and then Dinah, Jacob’s daughter. The disappointing thing about the book it is just ends. There is no closure/justice. Not that it’s a sad or happy ending, just an ending. 3out of 5 stars.

On the cruise, I read “The Shack” by William Paul Young. Now this is a book! It is about a man who’s daughter is kidnapped and murdered by a serial killer. Rough, I know. But the beauty of the story is how he overcomes his sorrow, finds his faith in God, and rebuilds his unity with his family. Let me tell ya, this is a must read. It changed my perception of God and how I pray to him, along with what he is able to do. 5 out of 5 stars.
The Shack

For the first week of December, my groceries were bought on November 30, which is included in the November totals. The second week, we went on vacation. The third week, Alex bought bread, eggs, and milk at Albertson’s for $3.83. We lived off of leftover frozen chicken and pork and sandwiches. I couldn’t go shopping, I needed recovery time from my vacation! The third week was Christmas week. I thought it was dumb to go to the grocery store for two days of groceries since we were traveling out of town. So… more sandwiches, chicken, and pork. Now we’re in the fourth week. Alex and I are going on a romantic getaway tomorrow morning. So… no groceries this week. Just (you guessed it) sandwiches, chicken and pork.

December grocery total: $3.83
No coupons used.
That comes out to about 95 cents per week on groceries in December.

HOW YA LIKE THEM APPLES?

Well, wait, that Sunday we got home after Christmas, we ordered CHinese take out from our favorite Chinese food place, SKillman Wok, conveniently located one block away. You get a whole to-go box full of chicken friend rice for $5.99. I’m talking the box is laid open, they pile and smash both sides down as full as they can, then quickly shut it and when you open it, magic. I ate on that rice for 3 days, lunches and dinners. So technically, we spent $9.82. And I’m ok with that.

With a Borders gift card Uncle Mike gave us (thanks Uncle Mike!) I bought a $7 feeds your family book. It has some great tips to stretch your dollar and how to plan meals so that all ingredients are used, instead of throwing away half of that can of tomato paste… I will begin to incorporate some of those yummy meals in my meal plan in the new year.

I also graduated, finally, from the University of Texas at Dallas. Now I sign my name with an M.S. How pretentious is that? Well, at least I earned the right to do so.

Hope you all had a Merry Christmas, yes, I said the “C” word, and have a Happy New Year!

One thought on “Potpouri

  1. Pingback: Remaining of BPS and Oscar Predictions « The Life of a Wife

Leave a Reply

