I will never buy cereal again (not for two years, at least)

Albertson’s has a crazy sale going on for cereal. Buy ten boxes at $3 each, automatically get $1 off each box, then get back $10 coupon after checkout. That comes out to $1 a box, not including coupons.

Here are my groceries from Albertsons, CVS, Tom Thumb, and Kroger:

Shelf cost for all 67 items: $247.15
Total I paid with coupons and sales: $73.79
Total saved: $173.36

Over budget big time, but I received $10 off my next Albertsons purchase and I could not pass up on all that cereal.

Here’s what I got for FREE! (“Total” cereal wasn’t free. I’m bad at leaving things in the free picture)

CVS
Sobe Drinks are buy one get one free. I used 2 buy one get one free coupons, making all four free!
Bic Soleil Razors are $6.69. I used a buy one get one free coupon.

Kroger
Bestlife Butter is on sale for $1. I used 3 $1 off coupons!
Frank’s Redhot Hot Sauce is on sale for .99. I used a .50 off coupon that was doubled!
Ronzoni SmartTaste Pasta is on sale for $1. I used a $1 off coupon!
2 pack Olay body bar is on sale $2. It was a participating item in the buy 4 get $4 off promo, making it $1. I used a $1.50 off coupon on my Kroger card, making .50!
Fuze drink is on sale for $1. I played the spin and win game on Kroger.com and won a free Fuze that loaded onto my Kroger card!
Gillette Body Wash is on sale for $2.99. It was also part of the $4 promotion, making it $1.99. I used a $2 off coupon in today’s newspaper, making .01!
Febreze Air Effects are on sale for $2.50. It was part of the $4 promotion, making it $1.50. I used a $1 off paper coupon and a .50 coupon on my kroger card, making it free!
Aussie Hair Spray was purchased from a buy one get one free coupon in today’s newspaper!
Crest Toothpaste is on sale for $1. I used a .50 off coupon in today’s newspaper that was doubled, making it free!

    Great deals:

Total cereal is on sale for $1.71. I used a $1 off coupon, paing only .71!
Scotch-Brite 3-pack sponges are in the clearance bins for $2.19. I used $1/2 coupon, paying $1.69 each!
Covergirl Eyeshadow singles are on sale for $2.24. They are part of the $4 promo, making them $1.24. I used $1 off coupon in today’s paper, paying only .24!
Last week, Cheer detergent was on sale for $4.99. My Kroger ran out, I got to ask for a raincheck for the first time. Today, Cheer was regular priced $8.29. I used my raincheck to make it $4.99, used a $2 coupon as well as a $2 off coupon on my kroger card, paying only .99!

Tom Thumb

    Good Deals!

Cinnamon Toast Crunch is on sale for $2.49. I used a Tom Thumb coupon to make it $1.88. I used .60 off coupon and a .55 coupon on my Tom Thumb card, paying only .73!
Orville Reddenbacher popcorn was in the clearance aisle for $1.50. I used a $1 off coupon, paying only .50!
Pop Secret popcorn was in the clearance aisle for $1.15. I used a .40/2 coupon that was doubled, paying only .35 each!
Pillsbury Easy Frost cans were in the clearance aisle for $1.99 marked down from $4. I used $1/2 coupon, paying only $1.49 each!
Renuzit Crystal Elements Air Freshener is on sale for $2.99. I used a $2 off coupon, paying only .99!
Vaseline Intensive Care Lotion Aloe is on closeout for $2.99 marked down from $7.79. I used a $1 off coupon, paying only $1.99!

Albertsons
Olay Cleansers are on sale for $5.35. I used a buy one get one free coupon!

    Good Deals

Kellogg’s cereals: paid $20 for 30 boxes of cereal, poptarts and Nutrigrain bars!
NasalCrom nasal spray (the only kind Alex will use for his allergies) is on sale for $10. I bought 2 and used 2 $2 off coupons, BONUS at checkout they ran up $5.49 each! I paid only $3.49 each for a $15 product!

So there is my savings. Hopefully I can trim the budget a little more. It takes a strong will, you know?

One thought on “I will never buy cereal again (not for two years, at least)

Leave a Reply

