How I feed my family of 2.5 on $50 a week

If you are wondering about the 2.5, I have to count my kitty, since I frequently buy litter and cat food.

I pulled out $50 in cash from my bank to guarantee that I couldn’t over spend. I got all of this for only $47.77 by combining coupons with sales!
What is “all this,” you ask?

    Albertsons

24-pack bottled water – $2.50
(3) 1.2lb Honeysuckle Ground Turkey – $1 each

    CVS

Herbal Essences Shampoo – $2.49
Herbal Essences Hairspray – FREE
Snickers Peanut Butter – .89
Snickers Peanut Butter – FREE
Milky Way – FREE
I received $2 at checkout to use on my next purchase at CVS!

    Aldi

Gallon of Milk – .99
Bag of sugar – .89
16oz sour cream – .99
12oz Turkey Bacon – $1.29
(4) Tomato Sauce – .25 each
Canned fruit cocktail – .79
Chocolate Protein Meal Bars – $4.49 (UGH! I bought these because the sign said .89. I NEVER would have bought them otherwise)
(4) Macaroni and Cheese – .29 each

    Kroger

Tidy Cat Litter – .19
Whiskas Cat Food – $2.19
Sister Schubert’s Rolls – $1.49
Del Monte Fruit Chillers – FREE
Finish Quantum Dishwashing Packs – $1.24
Muffin Mix – .79
Kraft sliced cheese – .24
Mission Flour Tortillas – $1.00
Dove Deodorant – .72
(6) Del Monte Green Beans – .26 each
Yoplait yogurt – FREE

    SuperTarget

Kikkoman Soy Sauce – .44
Eggs – .94
Reynolds Slow Cooker Liners – .69
Kraft Block Mozzarella – $1.38
Kraft Block Cheddar – $1.38

    Tom Thumb

Skippy Peanut Butter – .49
(2) Pillsbury Crescent Rolls – $1.10 each
3.9lb chicken breast – $6.89 ($1.77/lb)
(4) Apples – .39 each

These groceries usually cost $105.04. I saved 55%!

With these groceries plus what I have already in my pantry, I will be serving:
Spaghetti Casserole with Salad
Sloppy Joes with Homemade Tortilla Chips
Skillet Pasta and Beef Dinner with corn
Mexican Casserole with fruit cordial and Mexican rice
Grilled Cheese Sandwiches and Tomato Soup
Barbecue Chicken with green beans and white rice
Alex’s Famous Hamburgers with fries
Maple Pork Chops with corn and white rice

It can be done!

Leave a Reply

