$49.76 for this week’s groceries

Perfectly in the budget! I’m telling you, this paying cash for groceries thing really does wonders!

I tried price-matching at Walmart on Sunday. I know, I know, I talk badly about Walmart and groceries, but Paul, from I Heart the Mart has easy to follow steps on how to price-match.

So I went. And then still went to all of the rest of my stores, ugh. Take Tom Thumb for instance: Buy one, get one free Round London Broil Roast, PLUS I had a $2 off Tom Thumb meat purchase coupon. Walmart doesn’t price-match BOGOs. And like I’ve said before,Walmart will price-match only sales advertised in the flyers. So the every day low prices at other stores are lower than Walmart’s, but I can never get those low prices by price-matching.

Most of the things I went to price-match for, my Walmart did not carry. Strange. The popular Gatorade coupon that is “buy one Gatorade Prime and one Gatorade Recover, get one Gatorade Perform free,” could not be used because my Walmart did not have Prime or Recover!

I have another Walmart that is just four blocks away, so I won’t give up on it yet. It would just be nice to not bounce around to different stores, but you better believe me, I will for the better price.

Some of you are thinking, “Why waste the gas to do that?” If you live in a rural area, that would be pretty wasteful, but I live near 2 Walmarts, 2 Tom Thumbs, 3 Krogers, 1 Albertsons, 1 Aldi, 1 99 cent only store, 2 CVS’s, and 3 Walgreen’s… all within 2 miles, so mathematically it makes sense for me to drive all the way to the 99 cent store to get only a gallon of milk for 99 cents.

Here’s what my $49.76 got me on Sunday:

Check out my freebies!

Here are a few great deals!

    CVS

Purex 3-in-1 laundry sheets, 99 cents
Colgate Total Advanced Toothpaste, $2

  • I got back $3 ECB to use next time!
    • Kroger

    I did two transactions at Kroger. They are having a promotion where if you buy ten specific items, you get $3 off at checkout, followed by a $3 off catalina coupon to use for your next visit.
    Transaction #1: 6 cans of Chef Boyardee ravioli, 1 Banquet Pizza and pudding meal, 1 El Monterrey Tornados, and 2 boxes of Golden Grahams Breakfast bars… all for 38 cents, yes, that’s right. Thank you coupons.
    Then I had an extra $3 to use on Transaction #2! Some good deals from my second transaction:
    Tasteful Selections Potatoes, BOGO (best potatoes!)
    Sundown Fish Oil Vitamins, BOGO, I used a $2.50 off coupon as well (Because my husband is a hypochondriac, this month he thinks he is going to die of heart disease… Sarcasm [I love you, honey!])
    Colgate Toothpaste, free!
    Schick Hydro 3 Razor, $1.99 (Booyah!)

      Wal-mart

    I see on the receipt now that is “Walmart,” one word. When did they drop the hyphen? When they added that star to their logo? I need to get with the times.
    French’s Spicy Brown Mustard, 28 cents
    3 Aveeno Facial Cleansing bars, 87 cents each (Merry Christmas presents)
    Cantaloupe, 88 cents, price-matched Sprouts
    5.1 lbs Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast, $6.58, Price-matched Albertsons for $1.29/lb
    Cocoa Puffs Cereal, $1.14, price-matched Albertsons (my favorite cereal = anything chocolate)

      Tom Thumb

    Sun Drop 2 Liter, “free” coupon in Sunday’s paper (yippee!)
    1 lb Buddig Deli Cuts Turkey Breast, 99 cents

      Albertsons

    It really stank going anyway after I price-matched some items at Wally World, but, like I said, Wally did not have everything I was going for.
    Niagara water 24 ct, $1.69 (99 cent store is selling this for $2.99! yuck)

    It can be done! Stick to a budget. I had a lot of things on my list that I had to cross off before I left because it would push me over budget. But do I really need Cadbuury Bunny eggs?

    Leave a Reply

    