It wasn’t me!

I awoke this morning to the violent beams of sunlight slapping me in the face through my partially closed blinds and rolled over to grab my phone. I checked my email, the first thing I do every morning (how tech-addicted is that?) and saw an Amazon.com order confirmation email. In the email it was congratulating me for purchasing a $50 Playstation gift card. WHA?????

I don’t think I awoke at 3am just to place a Playstation order… I called Alex – he didn’t sleep shop last night either.

My heart pounding, I bounded out of bed and frantically opened my laptop. “Amazon.com” I punched in the web bar. I clicked on “help” at the bottom of the screen. Scrolling, scrolling. The page was very hard to navigate. I could not find a phone number to call until I typed in “customer service” into the search bar. Amazon, you should make that easier to find, although I understand you don’t want to advertise that people may need to report fraudulent charges.

Once on the phone, the two people I talked to were very friendly and helpful. I was told:
1. Change your password, but don’t worry about cc info because amazon doesn’t show it
2. Run Malware software on my computer
3. My refund will be in my account in 2-3 business days.

Kudos, Amazon! Very easy and helpful! Much better experience that Ebay. When I was in college my account got hacked and I had to prove that I indeed was in Arkansas, not in China selling hundreds of dollars of Louis Vuitton bags on the side. Really, Ebay?

3 thoughts on “It wasn’t me!

  1. Reminds me of the time someone hacked into my credit card account on the Capital One website. Once they got a hold of my info, they actually changed my account password and proceeded to place on order online at GameStop. I’m glad to hear you got your situation taken care of!

  2. I know…it’s amazing the lengths some people will go to! And in addition to getting my refund, Capital One froze my old my account and opened me a new one.

Leave a Reply

