“Why aren’t you going to Albertsons anymore?”

This is what my husband asked me on Sunday. He was concerned because he knows that Albertsons (and the other grocery stores in our area) double and triple coupons. By shopping only at Walmart like I have been the past few months, I am not taking advantage on those extra savings. Lately I have found that the extra savings are minuscule compared to driving to three different stores. Must be a summer lull. However, if there is a great deal that I can only get by double/triple coupon savings, I’ll definitely do it. Free trident layers gum just isn’t worth the extra trip. Walmart is making it so easy since they changed their policies this year to ad match and take coupons (competitor coupons, too!).

I also heard a rumor that they will be doubling/tripling coupons this fall. Then Walmart will be the perfect storm. No one will be able to compete. Sad for my friendly Albertsons store, but my loyalty goes out the window if I can save extra money to go on vacation.

One thing I have noticed since shopping mainly at Walmart is that my savings amount number has diminished. The Walmart receipts do not tell me how much I save, so I have to manually add up my coupons and ad match savings. I noticed this week that bananas were priced .36 a pound when last week they were .49/lb. There’s savings right there, however, the receipt doesn’t tell me that so it’s hard to keep track. I am still saving, I just don’t know how much.

Here’s what I picked up on Sunday

$59.63 BEFORE ad matching and coupons

After ad matching and flashing my coups, I spent only $42.94! I saved $16.69 just by ad matching other stores and coupons, this is without sales!

Ad-matches and Coupons used:
Fuji apples, $1.27/lb, ad-matched Albertsons for .99/lb
Peaches, .99/lb, ad-matched Sprouts for .47/lb
Zyrtec 5ct, $5.27, $5 off printable coupon from walmart.com = .27
Classico Pasta Sauce, $1.98, $1 off 2 coupon = $1.48 each
Green Giant canned veggies, .88, ad-matched Tom Thumb for .69 each
Arm & Hammer Carpet powder, $1.54, .50 off printable coupon from A&H’s website = $1.04
Atkins Protein shakes 4pk, $5.48, ad-matched Tom Thumb for $4.99, then used a $2 off printable coupon = $2.99
Old El Paso Tortilla Stuffers meal, $2.50, $1 off coupon = $1.50 (BONUS: I have a mail in rebate form that I will send an get $2.50 back in the mail. I actually made money!)
Ruffies 50ct, $3.97, .50 off coupon = $3.47
Cocoa Puffs Brownie Crunch, $2.37, ad-matched Tom Thumb $1.79, then used two .75 off printable coupons from coupons.com = $1.04 each!

Saving money isn’t as hard as you may think. You get as much out of it as the effort you out it. I get the Sunday paper and cut out the coupons. I get the weekly store circulars in the mail. I circle things I think I may have coupons for. If they are good deals, I price match at Walmart and fork over my coupons = voila. Money stays in my pocket.

It’s that easy!

Leave a Reply

