Why is it so difficult for me to look at my receipt before I leave a store?

When I got home from grocery shopping this afternoon, I laid out my groceries to examine the huntress’s kill. There sure wasn’t much on the table. I looked at my receipt and was overcharged $5 for a rack of ribs! Yikes! It may only be $5 to some people, but to me, that’s a whole lot more food! Here’s my loot.

Image

First I went to Walmart:

3 avocados, .68 each WM price, price matched Sprouts price of 3 for $1. Saved $1.04.

Mango, $1 at WM, price matched Sprouts for .50. Saved .50.

Cantaloupe, $1.68 at WM, price matched Albertsons for .99. Saved .67.

Kikkoman soy sauce, $1.57 at WM, price matched Albertsons for $1. Used .55 off coupon. Paid .45. Saved $1.12.

Parkay buttery spray, $1.68 at WM, price matched Albertsons for $1. Saved .68.

(2) Pure Protein bars, $1.27 each at WM, price matched Albertsons for $1. Used (2) $1 off coupons. 2 for free! Saved $2.54.

Banquet chicken pot pie, $0.88 at WM, price matched Albertsons for $0.50. Saved .38.

Freschetta Pizza, $5.97 at WM, price matched Albertsons for $3.99. Used $1 off coupon. Paid $2.99. (Crazy high for frozen pizza, but this is my favorite brand and it was on sale = splurge) Saved $2.98.

Boneless skinless chicken breast 4.83lb, $1.97/lb at WM, price matched Albertsons for $1.78/lb. Saved $1.08.

Lloyd’s Barbecue ribs, priced at $4.98 in the bin, rang up $9.98 😦 , used $2 off coupon. Saved $2.

Lemon juice, .88.

Walmart total: $24.89.

Total saved: $12.99. (why is this so low?)

Next I went to Aldi to get some goodies that are cheaper than Walmart (if you have a local discount store and you’re not using it, you better check yourself before you wreck your– wallet):

Milk, $1.99 (I noticed it was $2.38 at WM)

bag of Golden Delicious apples, $2.59

Box of tea bags, $1.89

Carton of MSG-free chicken broth, $1.29

Sugar, $2.29

pint of grape tomatoes, .79

peanut butter, $2.29 (is this going up like crazy?)

ranch dressing, $1.29

4 corn ears, .99

1lb turkey breast lunchmeat, $2.89

3 pk green bell peppers, $1.89

eggs, $1.19

12 grain bread loaf, $1.89

Aldi total: $27.76

Weekly total: $52.65

A tad high, not much savings, and those darn ribs! I don’t even like ribs that much. I guess I can’t be a superstar saver every week. Maybe I should go vegetarian…

One thought on “Why is it so difficult for me to look at my receipt before I leave a store?

  1. I think $2.99 for pizza is pretty cheap 😉 Sorry about the ribs- think of is this way; at a restaurant, they would be 3x that price!

Leave a Reply

