Photo Tour: Flying First Class

I got the opportunity to fly home from Seattle first class on Alaska Airlines.

There’s a nice, big console in between each seat.

The seats were wide enough that I sat cross-legged just fine.Image

Prior to coach boarding, we got a glass of cold water and snack mix.

Classical music could be heard through the plane’s PA system.

I informed the man next to me that it was my first time in first class and hoped he wouldn’t be annoyed by my taking pictures.

The flight attendant addressed me by name every time we interacted, which was a nice touch.

She asked me if it was warm in the cabin. I replied, “A little, but I’ll just turn on this,” referring to the twisty air directors on the roof.

She responded, “No, I’ll lower the cabin temperature for you.” Now that’s service!

After the remaining passengers boarded, we took off.

Tacoma, Washington

Tacoma, Washington

Image

There were two windows for each window seat.

Once electronic devices were allowed, they gave us these tablet-type devices from which I could pick current tv shows, movies, music, and even things to entertain kids.

They came with noise-canceling headphones that I got to keep!Image

Drinks were free – I ordered a vodka Coke Zero.

Image

About 2 hours into the flight, the glass began to freeze.

Ice Crystals

I ate a turkey breast sandwich for my meal. Not sliced turkey breast, but an actual thick turkey breast!

My sides were orzo and a slice of a tomato, and I ate chocolates for dessert.

This was served on a table cloth with real flatware including a knife!Image

We flew over some beautiful, snowy scenery.Image

As we flew over the plains, the landscape drastically changed.

Wind Power

Wind Power

After dessert, coffee and warm mixed nuts were served.Image

I finally made it to Dallas!

It was a great experience, but also a little shocking to see how different coach and first class flying experiences can be.

Next time I fly it will be difficult to sit in my tiny, coach seat with a crying baby behind me and a coughing man seated next to me. I’ll see the first class cabin and remember that I had it good once…

Leave a comment